T. C. Boyle

T. C. Boyle has published 14 novels and 10 collections of short stories. He won the PEN/Faulkner award in 1988 for his novel World’s End, and the Prix Médicis étranger for The Tortilla Curtain in 1995, as well as the 2014 Henry David Thoreau award for excellence in nature writing. He is a Distinguished Professor of English at the University of Southern California and lives in Santa Barbara.


Virtue for Spite

In "The Harder They Come," T.C. Boyle takes on the toxic kernel of the American far right, calling attention to the durable saliency of the libertarian fringe....

The Wonder of Disillusionment

Even when you finish reading T.C. Boyle's new novel, "The Harder They Come," you will turn the blank page hoping for more....

[VIDEO] All Novelists Wanted to be Rock Stars

Feed Your HeadSubscribe to LARB's FREE Newsletter

Open to any author writing in English about the Chicanx/Latinx experience, the Rivera Book Prize is committed to the discovery and fostering of extraordinary writing by a first-time or early career author whose work examines the long and varied contributions of Chicanx/Latinx in the US. The Rivera Book Prize aims to provide a platform that showcases the emerging literary talent of the Chicanx/Latinx community, to cultivate the next generation of Chicanx/Latinx writers, and to continue the rich literary memory of Tomás Rivera, Chicano author, poet, activist, and educator.

Entry Fee: $35. Entry fees are non-refundable.

Apply HERE